Author Topic: and somebody broke a map.  (Read 2828 times)


Offline VoiDeD

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,419
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2012, 08:50:38 pm »
Someone tell me how that's done and I'll Fix That Shit.

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2012, 08:54:32 pm »
all i know is explosive jumping. however the people in the screenshots might know the exact details come on guys, fess up on this exploit.

i honestly attempted to recreate the exploit with rocket jumping btw. if the screenshots aren't a big enough hint, flarejumping has better chances of getting there. there's a spot on the roof where they exit the map

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline Antie97

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • OH GOD, THEY'RE COMING OUT OF THE WALL SPHINCTERS
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2012, 08:57:05 pm »
interrogation time
I place $20 into a box. So do you. There is now $40 in the box. I sell the box to you for $30. We both walk away with a $10 profit.

Offline Miaumon

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • I'm a QR code suck it
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2012, 08:58:35 pm »
ADD ZONES EVERYWHERE

Offline h_twenty

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • The Demopan is only OP when I play him.
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2012, 08:59:23 pm »
Can't one of you just decompile the map and add nodraw walls?
Joined during 2011.
I'm h_twenty, and I approve this messege.

Offline VoiDeD

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,419
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2012, 09:01:39 pm »
Recompiling maps has always been a hassle, for a few reasons: decompiling is a technically destructive process that may not keep the map in the same state, and it requires the client to download the map again.

Easier for us to solve the problem with a server plugin.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2012, 09:05:19 pm by VoiDeD »

Offline bombs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • happy trees
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2012, 12:08:15 am »
yea i've done this on prophunt
there are a few places where you can get over the clip walls (easiest with demo jumping but possible with soldier and pyro) they are above the roof on one of the sides. not suer how the medic got out there though, maybe quick fix jumping?

anyway if you wanna load the map and invite me i can show you sometime, so can a few other people. it lets you get under the map and there are some strange things about that map, like a random mine shaft under the whole thing.

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2012, 08:32:37 am »
not sure how the medic got out there though, maybe quick fix jumping?

the VSH and FF2 plugins give medics the quick fix related buffs.

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline Miaumon

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • I'm a QR code suck it
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2012, 04:30:19 pm »
the VSH and FF2 plugins give medics the quick fix related buffs.

the quick fixes buff is not the same, its more of a mimic of the jumps.
The plugin is more like a Rubber-band rather than a small boost.

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2012, 06:50:23 pm »
the quick fixes buff is not the same, its more of a mimic of the jumps.
The plugin is more like a Rubber-band rather than a small boost.


http://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Quick-Fix
Quote from: TF2 Wiki page on Quick Fix
Whenever the patient uses an explosive jump (except Detonator and Sentry jumping), the Medic will be shot upward as well. The Medic will be launched with equal force in the same direction. However, this effect cannot be transferred from Medic to Medic, meaning that only the Quick-Fix wielding Medic(s) directly healing the explosive jumper will be launched, not those healing medics being launched.


though there is a subtle difference hinted to in the description here: in VSH and FF2, the chase jump allows the person healing the jumping target to follow, and anybody healing the medic chasing the jumping target.

EDIT: miswriting :V
« Last Edit: September 06, 2012, 06:52:01 pm by Rukrio »

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline VoiDeD

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,419
Re: and somebody broke a map.
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2012, 07:37:32 pm »
That's the medic bungee plugin. Something that's separate from VSH and FF2.

Regardless though, I made some changes to our zones plugin that'll make it harder for people to get out of the map there. Let me know if it still happens.