Author Topic: "fix" Wheatley  (Read 6480 times)

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
"fix" Wheatley
« on: August 30, 2012, 09:34:13 am »
ever seen how small his hitbox is in action?

barely practical to hit him with anything but projectiles seeing how entities hit a same size hit box as a scout, engie, or heavy. not sure where the model based hitbox is, or how small said hitbox is, but people who have been aiming at wheatley have reported missing shots that should of hit.

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline Miaumon

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • I'm a QR code suck it
Re: "fix" Wheatley
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 03:23:07 pm »
A. Hitboxes in tf2 are broken
B. Turtle is working on fixing this already
C. Blame school for this taking so long

Offline Turkle

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • Video games suck
shit
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 07:38:30 pm »
The problem is that I'd have to do actual model editing to change the hitbox. I have absolutely no experience in modelling.

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
Re: shit
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 10:07:52 pm »
The problem is that I'd have to do actual model editing to change the hitbox. I have absolutely no experience in modelling.
so... source engine has the hitscan hitbox on the model...

definetly not worth the weight of the situation. one thing i am wondering is this: in the wheatley model transition from Portal 2 to TF2, how could the people who did the porting miss this? were they sloppy?

inb4 the person who made the wheatley boss gets flak for the hitbox

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline Miaumon

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • I'm a QR code suck it
Re: "fix" Wheatley
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2012, 03:23:06 pm »
Quote
inb4 the person who made the wheatley boss gets flak for the hitbox

Bet he already has.

Offline VoiDeD

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,438
Re: "fix" Wheatley
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2012, 03:27:54 pm »
how could the people who did the porting miss this? were they sloppy?

Everything in FF2 is sloppy. The people who bother to make quality contributions to the gamemode are few and far between.

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
Re: "fix" Wheatley
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2012, 08:29:25 pm »
Everything in FF2 is sloppy. The people who bother to make quality contributions to the gamemode are few and far between.

i guess you have a point, seeing as somebody decided to make variables named after ponies.

first rule of coding: name and comment your stuff so it can be read by yourself 5 years later and by others now

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline DrJack Posts Ponies C:

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 323
  • Dragons Dragons Dragons Dragons Dragons Dragons
Re: "fix" Wheatley
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2012, 09:48:58 pm »
Ponies are the best way to name something, shut yo mouth or rather fingers idc

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
Re: "fix" Wheatley
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2012, 08:08:59 am »
Ponies are the best way to name something, shut yo mouth or rather fingers idc
then get the ff2 code and translate it.
you appear to be the resident expert on ponies, and the code has more pony-named variables than i'd like to think about.

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline VoiDeD

  • Full Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,438
Re: "fix" Wheatley
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2012, 06:00:31 pm »
Code: [Select]
new RainbowDash = GetClientButtons(Boss[index]);
decl button;
switch (buttonmode)
{
//case 0: it's a taunt!
case 2: button = IN_RELOAD;
default: button = IN_DUCK | IN_ATTACK2;
}

Code: [Select]
case 214: //applejack...no wait...powerjack!
{
new health = GetClientHealth(attacker);

Code: [Select]
new bool:bIsEveryponyDead=true;
for (new index = 0;index<=MaxClients; index++)
{
if (!IsValidClient(Boss[index], false))
break;

This next one is pretty special. It's used because the moron developer of this plugin has no idea how iteration works.
Code: [Select]
new pingas = 0;
while (ReadFileLine(fileh, s, sizeof(s)) && (pingas < 100))
{
pingas++;
if (pingas == 100)

It makes me cry thinking this idiot will someday be writing software. I hope he dies a spontaneous death before being hired anywhere.

Offline Rukrio

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • the village idiot
Re: "fix" Wheatley, this post brought to you by how NOT to code
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2012, 12:14:32 pm »
Code: [Select]
new RainbowDash = GetClientButtons(Boss[index]);
decl button;
switch (buttonmode)
{
//case 0: it's a taunt!
case 2: button = IN_RELOAD;
default: button = IN_DUCK | IN_ATTACK2;
}

Code: [Select]
case 214: //applejack...no wait...powerjack!
{
new health = GetClientHealth(attacker);

Code: [Select]
new bool:bIsEveryponyDead=true;
for (new index = 0;index<=MaxClients; index++)
{
if (!IsValidClient(Boss[index], false))
break;

This next one is pretty special. It's used because the moron developer of this plugin has no idea how iteration works.
Code: [Select]
new pingas = 0;
while (ReadFileLine(fileh, s, sizeof(s)) && (pingas < 100))
{
pingas++;
if (pingas == 100)

It makes me cry thinking this idiot will someday be writing software. I hope he dies a spontaneous death before being hired anywhere.

...this post is... dear god... it makes me cringe! i'm pretty sure ANYBODY can write better code than this! pony related code never works unless it's for something actually relevant to ponies, like a fangame based on MLP, and even then it must make sense to any outsiders as well!

Help. I don't know where this belongs.

Offline DrJack Posts Ponies C:

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 323
  • Dragons Dragons Dragons Dragons Dragons Dragons